Formatting cell values

Jun 18, 2011 at 11:00 PM

Hello,

I spent a few days trying to figure out how to format cell values in the grid (I am new to both this library and jqGrid - so if it's documented somewhere, I'd greatly appreciate the link). I have several rather common scenarios.

First use case:

First column shows product id 123, and clicking on it should take the user to product details. In other words, I would like to generate

<a href="/Products/Details/123">123</a>

I don't think it is possible through MVC.Controls out of the box. I created a LinkColumnRenderer with the following return from Render():

return "edittype: 'select', formatter: 'showlink', formatoptions: {baseLinkUrl: '" + Url + "'} "

Now I can specify this in the view:

.SetColumnRenderer(new LinkColumnRenderer { Url = "/Products/Details" })

jqGrid doesn't generate MVC URL, but /Products/Details?id=123 (there is a way to specify ProductID instead of id as well) - I guess it is as good as it gets.

Second use case:

I have a column that has a supplier name, and I want the user to be able to click on the link and get to the details page for this supplier. That is, I would like to generate:

<a href="/Suppliers/Details/456">Contoso</a>

I couldn't figure out how to do that without extending jqGrid formatter. I created $.fn.fmatter.showmvclink = function (cellval, opts) { ... } to generate such MVC link; I created a new MvcLinkColumnRenderer to specify 'showmvclink' instead of 'showlink' (I probably could combine the two and have some logic to select appropriate one); and I my controller creates a view model that includes a Supplier view model with SupplierID, and name.

Overall, it looks like very complex way to handle what seems to be a common situation, and should be handled by the library instead...

I have another use case - but if I get some pointers for these two - it will go along way to solve the third one :)

Thanks

Coordinator
Jun 18, 2011 at 11:46 PM